Student Senate 2017-2018 Header

Contact Information
Room 1411
734-432-5426
student.senate@madonna.edu
facebook iconTwitter iconInstagram icon

 Open Seats Available - Fall 2018

Open Seat

Application
Petition

Instructions:
1. Submit the Open Seat Application online at the link above.
2. Print the Open Seat Petition, or pick one up in Student Life (Room 1411), and have 100 current students sign it to support you. Note: Current members of Student Senate are not permitted to sign petitions.
3. Turn in completed petition to the Office of Student Life (Room 1411) to be reviewed by the Speaker of the Senate and the Student Senate Advisor.
4. Upon the completion of your application, petition, and attendance at three meetings, your application will be brought forward to a vote in General Assembly. You will be in contact with the Speaker of the Senate and the Student Senate Advisor through this process.

Current Vacancies
Senator, College of Education
Senator, College of Nursing and Health
Senator, Commuter Students
Senator, International Students (2)
Senator, Transfer Students
Senator, At-Large (3)

 First-Year Student Senator Application - Fall 2018

Application
Petition

Instructions:

  1. Submit the First-Year Senator Application online at the link above.
  2. Print the First-Year Student Senator Petition, or pick one up in Student Life (Room 1411), and have 100 current students sign it to support you.
    Note: Current members of Student Senate are not permitted to sign petitions.
  3. Turn in the completed petition to the Office of Student life (Room 1411) to be reviewed by the Speaker of the Senate and the Student Senate Advisor.
  4. Upon the completion of your application, petition, and attendance at three meetings, your application will be brought forward to a vote in General Assembly. You will be in contact with the Speaker of the Senate and the Student Senate Advisor through this process.
 Meet the Senate

Full Student Senate
Advisor

Amanda Geraci

Senior Coordinator

Madonna University Office of Student Life

Office 1411 ageraci@madonna.edu


Executive Officials

Senate SeatFirst NameLast NameEmail AddressClassMajor(s)
President Elaine Hamilton ehamilton793@my.madonna.edu Senior Nursing
Vice President Sarah James sjames570@my.madonna.edu Junior Nursing
Secretary Erin Phelps ephelps@my.madonna.edu Senior ASL Education
Treasurer   VACANT       


Secretaries

Senate SeatFirst NameLast NameEmail AddressClassMajor(s)
Secretary of Athletics Devin Gibson

dgibson697@my.madonna.edu

Senior Sport Management
Secretary of Clubs and Organizations Katie Klamerus

kklamerus@my.madonna.edu

Senior Nursing
Secretary of Communication Michele Dimond

mdimond@my.madonna.edu

Senior Graphic Design
Secretary of Religion   VACANT       
Secretary of School Spirit Stephanie Langa

slanga104@my.madonna.edu

Senior Integrated Science/Biology
Secretary of Technology Alex Jedrzejczak

ajedrzejczak@my.madonna.edu

Senior Mathematics


Senators

Senate SeatFirst NameLast NameEmail AddressClassMajor(s)
College of Arts and Humanities Sarah Fuzi

sfuzi625@my.madonna.edu

Sophomore American Sign Language
School of Business Brendan Delaney

bdelaney@my.madonna.edu

Junior Business Administration
College of Education    VACANT       
College of Nursing and Health    VACANT       
Speaker of the Senate & College of Natural and Social Sciences Sarah Knapp

sknapp@my.madonna.edu

Senior Biology/Pre-Med
Graduate School Stephanie Garza

sgarza237@my.madonna.edu

Graduate Student Humane Studies
Commuter Students Nicole Lauria

nlauria@my.madonna.edu

Sophomore Forensic Science
Commuter Students    VACANT       
First-Year Students    VACANT       
First-Year Students    VACANT       
International Students    VACANT       
International Students    VACANT       
Post-Traditional Michelle Sample

msample@my.madonna.edu

Junior Sign Language Studies
Resident Students William Hicks

whicks@my.madonna.edu

Sophomore Paralegal Studies
Resident Students Joshua Lomuscio

jlomuscio@my.madonna.edu

Junior Nursing
Transfer Students    VACANT       
At-Large Donovan Gomez dgomez176@my.madonna.edu Sophomore  Health Sciences
At-Large   VACANT       
At-Large   VACANT       
At-Large   VACANT       

 

 Constitution and Bylaws

Every strong organization begins with a solid foundation. Here are the governing documents for the Madonna University Student Senate.

Official Bylaws
Official Constitution

 Resolutions and Statements
Resolutions:         Statements:
F16-R-1:
Increase dining hours on campus in all 3 of the dining choices; Stack’s Deli, the University Dining Hall, and the Take Five.

          

                               Importance of Voting - November 2016
F16-R-2:
Advocate for the installation of two (2) sand volleyball courts on Madonna University’s Livonia campus.
        Veterans Day - November 2016
F16-R-3:
Improve residence hall emergency protocol to better serve student needs, in light of the events the morning of Thursday, September 29, 2016.
        Accepting Diversity - January 2017
F16-R-4:
Advocate for the addition of meals and points to resident student meal plans.
        State of the Senate Address - January 2017
F16-R-5:
Advocate for timely campus safety alerts and more transparent incident reports.
        Fellows Program - February 2017
F16-R-6:
Advocate for the installment of charging stations on Madonna University’s Livonia campus.
        Women's History & Black History Month - March 2017
F16-R-7:
Establish a system that allows for the University to band together for a speedy relief effort to provide aid in the forms of monetary donations and requested supplies for the victims of Hurricane Matthew.
        Loss of a Fellow Student - February 2017
F16-R-8:
Establish a system that allows for the University to band together for a speedy response to provide disaster relief, by collecting monetary donations and needed supplies in the relief effort.
        Sexual Assault Awareness Month - April 2017
F16-R-9:
Support the victims of the Tennessee Fires.
         
W17-R-1:
Advocate for the installation of new lighting by the basketball hoops in the Residence Hall parking lot.
         
W17-R-2:
Advocate for the allowance of opposite sex overnight guests in the residence hall.
         
W17-R-3:
Add a handicap accessible entrance to the West Wing/Dining area of the Residence Hall.
         
W17-R-4:
Advocate for the replacement of paper towel dispensers with electric hand dryers in all Madonna University bathrooms.
         
W17-R-5:
Provide credit card readers at each Registered Student Organization event table held at Madonna University.
         
W17-R-6:
Advocate for the inclusion for a section in all Madonna University course syllabi informing students of any and all mental health/counseling services available to them as Madonna University students.
         
W17-R-7:
relocate all six vending machines to advocate for the renovation of the take 5 lounge eating area.
         
W17-R-8:
Advocate for the installment of a Spirit Rock and security camera on Madonna University’s Livonia campus.
         

W17-R-9:
Advocate for the relocation of the basketball hoops.

         

 

 Committees, Meetings & Attendance

New info coming soon... 

 Office Hours

New info coming soon...